E: Every Boy’s Got One

By Sarah Beningfield

Every Boy’s Got One by Meg Cabot is a book that I have read multiple times and I would not hesitate to pick it up again when I feel like I need a good laugh, or just a general cheer-up.

Meg Cabot has been one of my favourite authors since I was a teenager and I even had the privilege of meeting her at a book signing a few years ago. I have read almost every single book that she has written – with the exception of the ones that are aimed at children – and have loved them all.

Every Boy’s Got One was released in 2004 and is the final book in a series entitled ‘Boy’, which is made up of three stand-alone novels with a similar thematic storyline. Every Boy’s Got One was my favourite of the three because it involved a trip to Italy. The sense of adventure mixed in with the uptight, neurotic and excitable main character made for an absolutely hilarious chain of events.

The ‘Boy’ series also has a romantic theme and what would be the point of going to Italy without an epic romance between two people who hated each other right from the start of the book. The complete opposite personalities of the main characters, Jane Harris and Cal Langdon, are what make the book so incredibly funny. Jane is a cartoonist who worries about mundane things and who is witty and quick to retort to anything and everything.

What makes this book unique is that almost the entire novel is in the form of either email correspondence or Jane’s travel diary. The travel diary allows for an in-depth view into Jane’s contemplations and emotions; while the emails allow for the thoughts and opinions of all the other characters, including their parents or other family members.

This book can be classified as chick-lit; it is light-hearted and a quick read, but guaranteed to keep you smiling. Meg Cabot can be relied on to provide unwavering humour and a book that will keep you entertained and happy from beginning to end.

Other books in this series:

The Boy Next Door

Boy Meets Girl

Other books by this author:

The Princess Diaries (The Princess Diaries Series)

Size 12 is Not Fat (Heather Wells Series)

Ransom My Heart

A memorable quote from this novel:

“Is this girl one of those cat people? For the love of God, please tell me I’m not going to be stuck in a middle seat in coach next to one of those cat people.”

Readers who would enjoy this:

Anyone who enjoys a light and funny read would enjoy this. It is guaranteed to make you smile and lift your spirits, plus there’s romance!

Other books beginning with ‘E’:

The Elephant Whisperer – Lawrence Anthony/Graham Spence

Emma – Jane Austen

Extras – Scott Westerfield


One thought on “E: Every Boy’s Got One

  1. Reblogged this on Reviewing ALL the books and commented:

    Hey everyone
    This is part of an alphabetical book review column that I write regularly for the other blog that I am a part of. The blog is called Artbeat and it focuses on all things to do with Art’s and Culture. I’m really proud to be a part of it and we produce some great content.
    Feel free to check out my reviews, or any of the other stories that may catch your eye!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s